Welcome to the IAAWC website.


AWP Conference in Portland

The caucus meeting at AWP19 is scheduled for Thursday, March 28 at 7:15 pm in Room F151 of the Oregon Convention Center (on level 1). Caucus members, please send us a list of all the events you are included in to nativeawp@gmail.com so we can share them with our writer friends.

Not to miss events at AWP19 including members of our caucus

  • Native American Voices: A Reading from Recent Works in Native Letters
  • New Poets of Native Nations Reading
  • And the Earth Did Not Devour Us
  • Arab/Indigenous: Palestinian, Indigenous North African, & Arab/Native Art
  • Creative Self-Care: Balancing Your Own Writing with Support for Your Students
  • From Here and Far Out: A Conversation about Indigenous Speculative Fiction
  • Indigenous Fiction: Intersections in the United States and Canada
  • Indigenous Womanisms: Decolonization & Na(rra)tivity
  • On the 20th Anniversary of Tupelo Press, a celebration of Native poets
  • Outsiders in Minority Fiction: When You’re From Where You’re Not Supposed to be
  • Reclaiming the Mine: Nonfiction Writers Explore Mining as Method and Metaphor
  • #saferLIT: Fighting Sexual Misconduct in the Literary World
  • What Now? When Good Writers Act Awful
  • Writing the Rift: Left Coast Poetries, Left Coast Poetics
  • Act of Gratitude: Poetry International’s 20th Anniversary Celebratory Reading
  • Beyond the Page: Literature and Multimedia Adaptations
  • Contemporary Poems and their Making
  • Fiction Carries Fact as a River Carries Sediment: Story-Truth in the Age of Data
  • Ghost Fishing: An Eco-Justice Poetry Anthology Reading
  • Hot Sauce in My Bag: Revenge of the Female Protagonist
  • Indigenous Poetics: A Reading by Emerging Poets from the IAIA MFA Program
  • Wings of Night Sky, Wings of Morning Light: A Play and A Circle of Response
  • Writing In and Out of Worlds
  • Writing the Coast: Veteran Westerners from Alaska to California


Featured Writer

Interested in being a Featured Writer for 2019? Indigenous AWP members are invited to send us a short bio, links to their work online, and a photo to be featured for one month on the caucus blog front page.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s